Welcome

Posted: October 3, 2011 in Administrative

Hey there. I’m Septimus, the geek with a gun. I’m into a lot of stuff, but guns are my primary passion. I’ve recently gotten interested in starting to teach other people the things I’ve learned, and this seems like as good a way as any to get started on that. I’m also a traditional geek, and that will almost certainly creep in here and there. I love sci-fi, fantasy, speculative fiction, zombie movies, and pretty much anything with a sword involved. I play tabletop RPGs, video games, board games, and dress up for movie premieres. I reference Star Trek, Battlestar Galactica and the Lord of the Rings in daily conversation. I’m not the modern “gamer” who plays Call of Duty with his bros over some brewskis, but wouldn’t know a bat’leth from a gaderffii stick. I’m legit. I sew my own Hogwarts school robes, build my own Nazgul gauntlets and roll dice with more than six sides on them.

Back to the basics. I’m 30, live south of Denver, CO and do the whole desk jockey thing during the day. As far as shooting, I’ve been doing it for fun for about 17 years now, with varying levels of dedication. I’ve significantly increased my trigger time and research in the past few years, focusing on competition, training media (books/dvds/podcasts) and taking classes as much as I can. I would say that my interests cover the whole firearms spectrum, but that my biggest focus is on defensive handgun training. I do also enjoy shooting clay pigeons (any of the formats), precision rifle marksmanship, and tactical carbine work.

To be clear, I’ve never been in the military or law enforcement. I’ve never been in a lethal force encounter where I’ve had to defend myself with a firearm. My knowledge is based on reading, listening to podcasts, watching training videos, taking classes, competing in IDPA matches, and some force-on-force training. I’m not trying to act like I’m some kind of door-kickin’ SWAT cop or spec ops badass. All I can do is take what I’ve learned from those guys and try to synthesize a cohesive whole. That’s really what I believe I have to offer here. I absorb as much information as I can get, and then compare the courses to each other and to my experiences with training and competition, and hopefully end up with a comprehensive system that brings together the best of all the training I’ve had.

So what do I have to offer? Why should you read this? I’m hoping I can present the information in an informative and interesting way. I’m hoping to provide a different perspective, and hopefully one that will be accessible to new shooters. I’m welcoming feedback and will try to answer questions as best I can. You can email me at geekwithagunblog@gmail.com if you’d like.

That’s all for now. I’ll try to put together a few posts soon and post them up for all to see. Enjoy, and thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

