Function Test

Posted: November 28, 2011 in Handgun, Information

I took my new Buck Mark over to my parents’ house for Thanksgiving, and was able to do a function test with it into a berm on the property. It was too dark to see where my rounds were impacting, but the gun ran just fine. With the heavy 5.5″ barrel, there is almost zero muzzle flip. The trigger is still dreamy, too. I’m hoping to be able to take it to a proper range sometime soon, so I can really see what it can do. I’m anticipating some pretty serious accuracy with it.

I also got to shoot my brother in law’s pocket revolver. It’s a Smith & Wesson 5-shot .38SPL in some super light metal, but I don’t know the model number. It was a fun gun to shoot, for sure. The grip is a little too small for my hand, but that’s to be expected with big giant paws and a tiny gun.

I’m also going to see if my dad will lend me one of his large-frame revolvers so I can practice with it more regularly. I still feel like that’s a weak spot for me, and I’d like to improve my revolver skill a lot more.

Other than that, not a ton more to report. I’ve been very busy in other areas, so I haven’t had much time to devote to shooting lately. It’s unfortunate, but I expect it will change before too long. Centennial Gun Club will be opening up in a few more weeks, hopefully, and then I’ll be free to shoot as often as I want. I’ll be doing some pictures and videos there, for sure. We just have to wait a little longer, I guess. I’ll keep you posted on that front, in case anyone reading this is in the area, and that range would be useful to them.

Leave a Reply

