Grant Cunningham’s take on the Four Rules

Posted: January 5, 2012 in Beginner, Information, Myths and Misunderstandings

This is a very interesting blog post from Grant Cunningham, whom I know I’ve linked to in the past. His blog is fantastically written, very well-reasoned, and I usually agree with him, which just gets him bonus points in my book.

Without further ado, here is the post in question: On Safety

His contention about the rules is similar to my own, which I didn’t really explain in my post on The Basics. Mostly, this is because I hope that this blog will appeal to new shooters, and help them to be safe and have fun with shooting. Very little in this world is less interesting or helpful for a new pe5rson than listening to the old dogs bark at each other about niggling details. However, I think that I might have to go back and re-work my original post on the strength of Grant’s arguments. I’ll probably link to his post there as well, just to provide more background. Anyway, that’s all a bunch of administrative stuff (the only thing less interesting than petty squabbles) that you don’t much care about. So read the article, digest it, think about it, and let me know in the comments what you think. I’d be very curious to hear if anyone thinks that “Rule 1” is still necessary or even desirable after reading Grant’s article.

Leave a Reply

