Sometimes, things just work out.

Posted: April 23, 2012 in Advanced, After Action Reports, Handgun, How To, Information, Intermediate

Friday night, a friend of mine and I went to the range. He has a Glock 17 (4th gen) and a Glock 34 (3rd Gen) that I really wanted to shoot, so he agreed to come up and throw some lead downrange with me. I was hoping that Glock’s low-profile slide catch (Gaston Glock insists it’s not a release) wouldn’t be an issue for my thumb. Unfortunately, my friend has installed extended slide catches on his Glocks, so I still definitely caught and didn’t get slidelock on either. Lame.

However, during this process, the RSO came up and asked if he could give me a few pointers. This was a little weird. I shoot pretty well (not great, but pretty well) and most of the RSOs at the range have seemed mostly impressed and complimentary, not thinking that they can offer me any tips. I’m seriously not trying to sound like an arrogant prick here, and I feel like that’s all that’s coming through. Anyway, try to get past it if you can, and I’ll do the same. So when this guy came up to give me a tip, I was surprised, but I figured I’d humor him and see what he had to say. He was also very complimentary, but noticed that I was shooting pretty slowly, which I was. He recommended working on resetting during recoil, which is something I’ve heard of before, and I know I should’ve been doing, but had never made a habit. This is a little weird, so I’m going to break it down.

When people first start shooting, normally they pull the trigger (often jerkily) and then bounce their finger all the way back off of it during recoil. Then they have to reengage the trigger, pull all the way back through the “slop” and get back to the break point. Once you get some more experience under your belt, you generally start trapping the trigger to the rear during recoil. This is better for follow-through, and allows you to let the trigger out just to the reset point, and then to press again, having bypassed the whole mess of reacquiring your finger’s position on the trigger and working through the slop. That’s where I was. The more advanced technique, which is what I know I should have been doing, is to reset the trigger just to the reset point during recoil. You’re getting the best possible result here. You’ve pressed your trigger, you’ve maintained your finger’s position on the trigger, you’ve let it out enough to reset, so you’re ready to fire again. This is how you speed up your shooting. If you can find a way to do two things at once without suffering any negative effects on your accuracy, more power to you. The next step for me is to change targets in recoil, so I can shoot multiple targets more quickly.

Anyway, so that was the first thing he mentioned, and he was very cool about it. I’ve heard RSOs giving people tips before and they’re normally pretty dickish about the whole thing, and are often giving bad advice. That’s largely why I wasn’t immediately jazzed about the prospect, but he was completely right, and I really should have been doing that. Even if I’m working on slow fire drills, there’s no reason not to reset in recoil and then just take my finger off the trigger, bring the gun back to high ready, shake out my shoulders, etc. It’s good practice, even if I’m not trying to shoot fast strings.

So that was the first thing, and is probably enough for this post. I learned more from him, though, and will post more about those other things, each in their own post, most likely. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

